Personal Trainer Continuing Education

When Should I Renew My Personal Training Certification?

As a certified personal trainer, maintaining your certification is crucial to your professional success. Each certifying organization has specific renewal periods and requirements. This guide will help you navigate when and how to renew your certification for six major personal training organizations: NASM, AFAA, ACSM, ACE, ISSA, and NCCPT.

How does the process work generally?

As a personal trainer, the process of renewing your license is a critical part of maintaining your professional standing. In general, this involves earning a specified number of Continuing Education Units (CEUs) or Continuing Education Credits(CECs) within a set timeframe, typically every one to three years, depending on your certifying organization.

These CEUs/CECs are acquired through ongoing learning opportunities that enhance your knowledge and skills in the fitness industry. Alongside this, holding a current CPR/AED certification is a universal prerequisite across all organizations.

Once you've met these requirements, you apply for renewal with your certifying organization, often accompanied by a renewal fee. Remember, each organization may have slightly different processes and requirements, so it's essential to stay informed about your specific certifying body's guidelines.

It's also worth noting that many organizations offer a grace period for renewal, but relying on this is not recommended. Instead, plan ahead and make sure you're fulfilling your CEUs and other requirements in a timely manner to ensure a smooth, stress-free renewal process.

1. National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM)

NASM certifications are valid for two years. To renew your certification, you must have earned 2.0 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) during this period and have a current CPR/AED certification. NASM offers a grace period, but it's advisable not to rely on this. Learn more about NASM recertification

2. Athletics and Fitness Association of America (AFAA)

Like NASM, AFAA certifications are valid for two years. You must earn 15 CEUs and hold a current CPR/AED certification to renew. AFAA also provides a grace period, but it's best to plan ahead. More on AFAA recertification

3. American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

ACSM certifications are valid for three years. You need to accumulate 45 CEUs during this time and maintain a current CPR certification. ACSM provides a grace period as well. Details on ACSM recertification

4. American Council on Exercise (ACE)

ACE certifications have a two-year validity. To renew, you must complete 2.0 CEUs and have a current CPR/AED certification. ACE also offers a grace period. Find out more about ACE recertification

5. International Sports Sciences Association (ISSA)

ISSA certifications do not expire as long as you meet the Continuing Education (CE) requirements. You need to complete 20 CEUs every two years and maintain a current CPR/AED certification. More on ISSA recertification

6. National Council for Certified Personal Trainers (NCCPT)

NCCPT certifications are valid for one year. To renew, you must earn 2.0 CEUs and hold a current CPR/AED certification. NCCPT also provides a grace period. Learn more about NCCPT recertification

Remember, continuing education is key to maintaining your certification. FitFixNow can provide the necessary continuing education requirements for each organization.

Stay proactive about your certification renewal to ensure you're always ready to serve your clients with the most up-to-date knowledge and skills. Happy training!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.